Vikings Face Off Against Churchill Bulldogs

On Wednesday January 3rd Whitman hosted Churchill for a dual meet.  Churchill came into the contest boasting the number 2 seed in county team ranking, behind only Damascus.

Our first match against the Bulldogs started at 145 which ended in a Bulldog pin.  That was followed by two more losses at 152 and 160 bringing the score to 0-13.   Our first win of the evening was turned in by Sebastian Turkewitz at 170.  Seb never trailed his opponent and outlasted him for the full 6 minutes in 4-2 contest.  Seb’s win was followed by two more losses at 180 and 195 before senior captain John Luke Iglesias was up at 220.  John Luke had another convincing performance that resulted in a pin in the second period.  This brought the score to 9-22.

The Vikes lost a 285 but freshman Isaac Beserat won a convincing 7-2 decision at 106 to bring the score back to 12-28.  The Vikings then lost at 113, 120 and 126. Although Sean Fleming at 113 battled ferociously against a much more experienced opponent and avoided being pinned.  The tide turned again when Matthew Lindstrom’s time came at 132.  Matthew battled a ranked opponent and was trailing him over the first two periods and was down 3 to 4 going into the third. Matt fought back in the final period and bested his opponent with an 8-6 decision.  Well done Matt!

The final match of the evening was senior captain Clark Boinis at 138.  For this match Churchill chose not to send a wrestler out to face Clark and forfeited the match, even though they had several grapplers at his weight class and one warmed up and ready to go.   This tactic of forteiting a match when you have a wrestler able to go and thus denying the opposing wrestler a match is often frowned upon and is not endorsed by most coaches and teams.

After the varsity matches concluded, a lengthy JV battle ensued consisting of 16 contests.  Whitman dominated the Bulldogs winning 10 matches with a final JV score of 45 to 23.  The following JV wrestlers won their matches:  Jack Kelly (who recorded his first pin), Colby Fong, Jack Morris, Will McDonald (with an OT pin), Eric Yuan, Charlie Imperial (with a 30 second pin), Bennett Goeke (with a 50 second pin), Neil Parikh (with a 1st period pin), Jay Gatten and Danylo Hartzler.  Congratulations to our JV squad for a big win against Churchill!

By George Boinis










Comments are closed.